DAS ZWERGGECKO-FORUM

Das Forum für alle Arten, die nicht nur klein sind, sondern oft auch noch zu kurz kommen
Aktuelle Zeit: 28.03.2024, 10:51

Alle Zeiten sind UTC + 1 Stunde

Autor Nachricht
 Betreff des Beitrags: Gecko Help
BeitragVerfasst: 04.01.2016, 04:10 

Hello everyone, I am new to and excited to be in the world of dwarf geckos. I already own many reptiles but I have some questions. I know dwarf geckos are not the most easy to handle lizards, but I wanted to know if there are any that can tolerate handling. I have been looking at Lygodactylus williamsi and I am absolutely fascinated, so here are my questions. Would a breeding pair be fine in a 8x8x8 or in a 8x8x12(inches). Also do you know how much they cost. I am going to Reptile Super Show soon and wanted to know if I would see any and if I did, does anyone have an estimate at price.

Thank you Dwarf Gecko Community
- Daniel

Betreff des Beitrags: Re: Gecko Help
BeitragVerfasst: 04.01.2016, 22:04 

Hi Daniel,

As you may have noticed, most of the forum is written in a language other than English. It is German because this forum is based in Germany. I guess nobody will know how much the cheapest L. williamsi pair on a fair in Los Angeles, USA, will cost. In Germany they became pretty expensive because they are protected by CITES now and there aren't any legal exports anymore. A pair costs about a 150 EUR at least.

No, a terrarium or should I call it a tank because fish tanks are what you normally use in the USA, with a size of 8" x 8" x 8" or 8" x 8" x 12" is way too small for a Lygodactylus pair. A proper European style terrarium with a size of at least 1.5 feet x 1.5 feet x 2 feet would be a proper enclosure to keep them. Maybe an Exo Terrarium tank will do with proper lamps.

You should not even try to handle these small geckos because you won't be able to do this unless you force them. It might kill them. Be patient and observe them. That's it.